Meta's announced paid tier for its Edits video-editing app — more cloud storage for video projects and expanded access to the upcoming Edits assistant, which analyzes Instagram insights and suggests content ideas, sold via Meta One Business or standalone.
Last verified · 2026-10-23 · by Moe Ameen
Published 2026-09-16 · Updated
Short answer
Edits Plus is a paid tier Meta announced on September 15, 2026 for Edits, its free video-editing app. It adds more cloud storage to sync projects across devices and more use of the upcoming Edits assistant, which analyzes Instagram insights and suggests ideas. It comes in Meta One Business packages or as a standalone plan. Meta has not shared a price or launch date.
Key takeaways
Edits Plus is a paid subscription tier Meta confirmed on September 15, 2026, alongside its new Meta One subscription lineup. It sits on top of Edits — Meta's free standalone mobile video editor, often called Instagram Edits — and, per Meta's own announcement, adds more cloud storage so you can sync and access video projects across devices, plus additional usage of the upcoming Edits assistant, an AI feature Meta says helps creators analyze their Instagram post insights and brainstorm new content ideas. Meta says it will be offered as part of the Meta One Business packages or as a separate subscription. At announcement it had not shipped and is described as coming soon.
Meta has been moving free AI features behind paid tiers across its apps more broadly. In a July 2026 Instagram Q&A, Instagram head Adam Mosseri explained the thinking behind that shift: "these AI models are very expensive to run, and so we try to just offer them for free, but we have a cap on how many times you can use them per day. Eventually, you're going to be able to subscribe to be able to get access to more." Edits Plus fits that pattern for the Edits app specifically — more storage and deeper access to the Edits assistant, not a change to the core hand-editing tools. The underlying editor (green screen, subject cutouts, custom captions, and watermark-free export) is covered in detail on the Meta Edits page.
Be precise about what is and isn't known. Meta has not disclosed the price of Edits Plus, the exact usage thresholds on the Edits assistant, or a firm launch date, and availability may vary by region and account. Edits launched in April 2025 as a free rival to ByteDance's CapCut, so the paid tier is Meta following the category into subscriptions. Treat every specific below as a snapshot of an announced-but-undefined tier, and confirm current details on Meta's own materials before relying on them.
Read what Edits Plus actually adds: deeper access to the Edits assistant — Meta's insights-and-ideation tool — and more cloud storage for your projects. Both are real conveniences for someone hand-crafting clips on a phone. Neither touches the ceiling that limits a creator's reach, which is distribution — the moment you export from Edits, writing the copy, sizing the video for eight platforms, keeping a week on-brand, and posting each clip is still entirely on you. Kompozy is the layer that starts exactly there. Hand it the exported clip and it becomes the week's content: reframed per platform with your branded caption style, several Clipped Shorts pulled from one long edit, plus the formats a video editor can't produce at all — an avatar-narrated Persona Short that never needs you on camera, brand-exact Carousel Posts and Quote Graphics, a Blog Article, and an Email Newsletter, every piece written to one voice by the Persona Brief.
The clean split: Edits Plus buys you more of one job — idea-generation and storage for the clips you edit by hand — while Kompozy runs the whole operation around it. Where Edits stops at export to Instagram Reels, Kompozy's Autopilot schedules and publishes across the eight social platforms plus blog and email from one queue, behind a per-post review gate, on one flat monthly plan of credits instead of a single app's metered add-on. So it is not Edits Plus versus Kompozy. Subscribe to Edits Plus if you want more storage and ideation help inside the editor; then run those clips through Kompozy to turn each one into a published week everywhere. If you're weighing the app against a full engine, the honest Instagram Edits alternative and review pages map where each starts and stops.
An actual Kompozy output in the persona short format. It was made for a different subject than Edits Plus, and it shows the finished format you would get.
Best for:
Not ideal for:
Edits Plus is a paid subscription tier Meta confirmed on September 15, 2026 for its Edits video-editing app. Meta says it adds more cloud storage for video projects and expanded access to the upcoming Edits assistant, an AI feature that analyzes your Instagram post insights and helps brainstorm content ideas, sold as part of Meta One Business packages or as a standalone subscription. It had not launched at announcement.
Meta has not disclosed a price. At announcement it shared neither the subscription cost nor the exact usage thresholds on the Edits assistant, and gave no firm launch date. Check Meta's own pages for current pricing before relying on it.
Yes. Meta says the base Edits app stays free. Edits Plus is aimed at the Edits assistant and cloud storage, not the core hand-editing tools — the subscription adds more of the assistant's usage plus device sync, and it does not replace the free app.
Meta said Edits Plus will be available as part of its Meta One Business packages or as a separate subscription. Meta One is Meta's broader subscription lineup spanning Instagram, Facebook, and WhatsApp; Edits Plus is the editing-app piece of that stack.
No. Edits Plus is about more storage and Edits-assistant headroom inside the editor; the app still funnels finished video into Instagram Reels, and posting elsewhere is manual. To reframe one edit per platform and schedule and publish it — plus generate carousels, a blog, and a newsletter from the same idea — use a content engine like Kompozy, which fans output to the eight social platforms plus blog and email from one queue.
We checked every figure and product claim on this page against the sources listed below on 2026-10-23, and removed or corrected anything they did not support. Kompozy plan and platform details come from kompozy.io/pricing and kompozy.io.
Sources