// AI NEWS · PLATFORM

YouTube Will Auto-Label Undisclosed Brand Deals and Rewrites Its Policy Around "Branded Content"

Announced September 3, 2026, YouTube adopted the industry-standard term "branded content," said its systems will begin automatically applying a disclosure label to videos with undeclared brand deals, and added age and location controls plus an affiliate-sourcing test.

2026-09-04 · by Moe Ameen

Published 2026-09-04 · Updated

Short answer

On September 3, 2026, YouTube said it will automatically add a disclosure label to new uploads that contain brand deals the creator did not declare. It also renamed "paid product placement" to "branded content," added age and location limits for sponsored videos, and began testing affiliate products from local retailers. Creators may be able to certify that a label is wrong. Free products count as deals under FTC guidance.

Key takeaways

  • YouTube may auto-label new uploads that contain undeclared brand deals.
  • It now uses the term "branded content" in place of "paid product placement."
  • Creators can set age and location limits on sponsored videos to meet local rules.
  • Under FTC guidance, gifted products need a disclosure, not only paid deals.
  • Flip the paid-promotion setting at upload. That beats disputing an automatic label.

What changed in YouTube's branded content rules in September 2026?

On September 3, 2026, YouTube announced an update to how it handles branded content and consolidated its paid product placement policy language. Two things changed at once: terminology and enforcement. YouTube adopted the industry-standard term "branded content" (replacing the older "paid product placement" framing), reiterated that creators must also comply with Google Ads policies, and said its systems will begin automatically applying a disclosure label to newly uploaded videos that contain brand deals the creator did not declare.

YouTube's disclosure policy covers "branded content, sponsorships, endorsements, or other commercial relationships," and the rules apply across videos, descriptions, live streams and Shorts. Free products count too. The FTC tells influencers to disclose "if you got anything of value to mention a product," and that includes free or discounted products.

On the enforcement side, YouTube's language is: "If our systems detect that your newly uploaded video includes branded content that you did not disclose, we may automatically apply the disclosure label on your behalf." Creators "may have the option to certify" that a video does not contain branded content and override an incorrectly applied label, though that wording is conditional rather than a guaranteed appeal route. YouTube has not given a firm date for the automated detection, and a refreshed viewer-facing label is meant to give audiences clearer context.

Two other changes shipped alongside. First, creators get new age and location controls at the point of declaration — an overall minimum viewing age, different minimum ages per country, and geographic locale — so one upload can satisfy different regional rules (such as England's HFSS food-marketing restrictions). Second, YouTube is running a small affiliate-sourcing experiment that shows the same creator-tagged affiliate product sourced from a different eligible local retailer, so listings are more likely to be locally shoppable. Treat exact rollout timing and regional availability as a moving target and confirm any single detail against YouTube's own Help Center before relying on it.

Why do YouTube's branded content rules matter for creators?

  • Disclosure is now effectively non-optional. If you skip the paid-promotion setting, YouTube may apply the label for you — so declaring every deal, proactively, is the safe default rather than a judgment call.
  • Free products count. Under FTC guidance, gifted items and "anything of value" count, not only cash sponsorships — a common gap for smaller creators who assumed only paid deals needed a label.
  • An algorithm now weighs in on your reputation. Automated detection means a mislabeled video is possible; an override path exists but is described as conditional, so getting ahead of it beats disputing a wrongly-applied label after the fact.
  • The new age and geo controls are genuinely useful. Gating a sponsored upload by minimum age or country at declaration lets one video stay compliant across markets with different marketing laws.
  • The rules are consolidated. YouTube folded its paid product placement language into one branded-content policy, but the work of producing consistent, on-brand sponsored content across platforms is unchanged.

How can creators handle branded content with Kompozy?

Two moves here, and they are different from each other. The timely one: a plain-English breakdown of the new branded-content rules — what counts as branded content, what auto-labeling actually does, how "free products" trips creators up, and how to stay compliant — is a high-intent explainer that creators and the brands sponsoring them are searching for the week it lands. Drop your take into Kompozy and one idea becomes a week of posts: a Carousel walking through the definition and the auto-label, Quote Graphics pulling the "free products count" and "we may apply the label on your behalf" specifics, a captioned Persona Short explaining it to camera, Text Posts for X and LinkedIn, a Blog Article for the long-tail search, and a newsletter — all held to one voice by your Persona Brief and published across the eight social platforms plus blog and email on Autopilot.

The durable move is for creators who actually run brand deals. The operational load of a sponsorship is rarely the label itself — it is producing the sponsored content consistently everywhere the deal lives: YouTube, plus Instagram, TikTok, and the rest, each on-message for the brand and on-voice for you. Kompozy generates that whole set from one brief — a sponsored Persona Short, a brand-exact Carousel via HyperFrames, Photo Posts, a Blog Article and a newsletter — every piece governed by the Persona Brief so the sponsor's talking points and your tone stay identical post after post, then repurposes one hero asset into a run of platform-native cuts. One honest boundary: the disclosure toggle itself lives in YouTube Studio and each platform's own paid-promotion setting, so you still flip that switch at upload — Kompozy produces and distributes the branded content; the platform handles the legal label. For the related-but-separate rules on synthetic media, see our coverage of YouTube's AI disclosure and likeness rules, and for how brand partnerships get measured, YouTube's push on attributed branded searches.

What are the quick takeaways on YouTube's branded content rules?

  • September 3, 2026: YouTube announced a branded-content update, folding its paid product placement policy language under the industry-standard term "branded content."
  • YouTube's systems will begin automatically applying a disclosure label to newly uploaded videos with undeclared brand deals, with no firm rollout date; creators may have a conditional option to certify and override.
  • The disclosure policy covers branded content, sponsorships, endorsements and other commercial relationships, and under FTC guidance free products count too.
  • New age and location controls let creators gate a sponsored upload by minimum age, per-country age and geographic locale to meet regional marketing laws.
  • A separate affiliate-sourcing test shows the same tagged product from a different eligible local retailer so listings are more likely to be locally shoppable.

What does this look like in Kompozy?

This photo post came out of the Kompozy workspace. It is one of the formats a creator can produce for a sponsor's campaign before flipping each platform's own disclosure setting.

Photo post generated in Kompozy
Real output · Kompozy Photo post format · from the Kompozy workspace

Who is this for, and who should skip it?

Best for:

  • Creators who run sponsorships or receive gifted products
  • Brands and agencies that need deals to stay compliant across countries
  • Creators selling to markets with food or age-based ad rules, such as England

Not ideal for:

  • Creators who never take deals or gifts, for whom little changes
  • Anyone looking for legal advice, which this page is not
  • People expecting Kompozy to set the YouTube disclosure toggle, which happens in YouTube Studio

Frequently asked questions

What is YouTube's new definition of branded content?

YouTube's disclosure policy covers "branded content, sponsorships, endorsements, or other commercial relationships." With its September 3, 2026 update, YouTube adopted "branded content" as the umbrella term in place of "paid product placement." Disclosure applies across videos, live streams and Shorts, and FTC guidance says free or discounted products need a disclosure too.

Will YouTube automatically label my video if I don't disclose a brand deal?

Yes, potentially. YouTube says that if its systems "detect that your newly uploaded video includes branded content that you did not disclose, we may automatically apply the disclosure label on your behalf." YouTube has not given a firm date for the rollout. Creators may have a conditional option to certify that a video contains no branded content and override an incorrectly applied label, but declaring deals proactively in YouTube Studio remains the safest path.

Do free products count as branded content on YouTube?

Yes. The FTC tells creators to disclose "if you got anything of value to mention a product," and that includes free or discounted products and other perks, not just cash. If a brand sent you a product in exchange for featuring it, that is branded content and should be disclosed, even if no money changed hands.

Is this the same as YouTube's AI disclosure rules?

No. This September 2026 update covers branded content — paid promotions, sponsorships and endorsements. It is separate from YouTube's "altered or synthetic content" disclosure and likeness rules, which govern realistic AI-generated media. A video can require both a branded-content label and an AI-content disclosure if it is a sponsored video that also uses synthetic media.

How do we know this?

We checked every figure, date, quote and product claim on this page against the sources listed below on 2026-10-23, and removed or rewrote anything we could not confirm. The auto-label quote and affiliate test come from Social Media Today. Certification and regional controls come from PPC Land and House of Marketers, policy scope from YouTube Help, and the free-products rule from the FTC. Kompozy plan and format details come from kompozy.io.

Sources

  1. Social Media Today — YouTube updates branded content sourcing and disclosures (read 2026-10-23)
  2. YouTube Help — Add paid product placements, sponsorships and endorsements (read 2026-10-23)
  3. PPC Land — YouTube will label brand deals that creators fail to disclose (read 2026-10-23)
  4. House of Marketers — YouTube automated branded content disclosure (read 2026-10-23)
  5. FTC — Disclosures 101 for Social Media Influencers (read 2026-10-23)
  6. Kompozy — Pricing and plans (read 2026-10-23)

Related news

← All AI news · Get started →